22/12/2010 05:13

‘IYABO ABADE’ BATTLES TO OVERCOME SEX CHANGE ...FIVE YEARS AFTER SURGERY IN USA

Life could be cruel. If not, how else can one explain the fate of James Johnson, formerly Iyabo Abade, who had a successful sex change in the United States five years ago, but still battling to adjust to life as a male?

JJ as she, sorry, he is fondly called is also battling to be accepted by the society in his immediate constituency as a footballer and the world generally.

It is a big issue. Johnson was almost in tears while narrating his ordeal to correspondent on Saturday. He has done everything possible to remain a footballer but things are just not working.

Johnson grew up as a female and was on the verge of playing for the Super Falcons when she came out to confess she was a hermaphrodite. Money was raised for her from various sources and she underwent an operation in USA. She was told she had more male hormones in her body and so she opted to be a man. She changed her name from Iyabo Abade to James Johnson after the operation.

A hermaphrodite is a person or an animal with both male and female organs. While it is common in animals, it is rare in humans.

The organs and functions of one or both sexes usually develop imperfectly in a hermaphrodite. So far, according to the World Book Encyclopedia, few human cases have been reported.

The medical community has not given a clear reason for this condition but the most common cause is Androgen Insensitivity Syndrome.

The AIS is the condition in which the body does not respond to the androgen being produced.

However, since coming back to Nigeria as a man in 2005, things have not been the same for JJ. He struggled to travel for another test last year, but now there is need to undergo another surgery.

He said, ”My church, Family Worship in Abuja, bought me a ticket to travel last year December. The doctor told me I must stay in the USA for at least one year. He said I had to undergo weekly tests to complete the process.

”I need about N7m for this because I have to pay for accommodation and take care of myself out there for a year.”

So far, Johnson is yet to be performing the full function expected of a male adult. Five years after the surgery, Johnson is yet to have a sexual relationship with a woman.

”That is a tough one. I am still not fully okay. I still feel somehow but the doctors said after the final surgery I will be okay. I have a girlfriend. She has been my friend even when I was a female and till date we are still very close. I have not attempted having sex with her because I know I cannot do so yet.

”I need to be told all is well before I do all of that and the doctor is yet to give me the go-ahead. My girlfriend is Agatha Agu, she is in school in the USA, ”he said.

Life as a man has been tough for Johnson in many ways. It has been difficult for him to get a stable football club. It is also tough for him to make ends meet, especially in the past two years.

In 2006, he played for NEPA of Abuja. In the 2007 league season he played for Plateau United and in 2008 and later, Crown, Ogbomosho.

He narrated his ordeal in the three teams. He said, ”I underwent screening like every other player and picked in each of the three teams. Things went on well for me till they discovered my identity as the former Iyabo Abade.

The players and officials became hostile to me the moment they realised my predicament. Can you imagine the officials of a club where I passed the screening calling me to tell me that I won’t be able to cope.

”In some cases if they read about me in the newspapers they will now call me to confirm and that is the end. The stigma has been a big problem in the three teams and so since 2008, no job.

“At the moment, I am ready to do anything. I can drive very well and if I get a job as a driver I will go for it.”

Johnson is the fourth born of a family of six. His father died in 1999 but the mother is still in Lagos with other siblings. Funny enough, the family look up to him to take care of the mother and his younger ones.

”So much pressure is on me while I am trying to even sort myself out. It is not easy. In 2008, I sold my car, a Mercedes Benz 190, at N300,000 just to pay my rent. Agatha, my girlfriend, has been very supportive. Things have been generally bad. How my Christmas will be for now, I do not know,” he said.

In the New Year, Johnson‘s target is to get help to travel abroad for the final surgery and then move on with life in any field, not necessarily football.

He said,” I want a normal life. To be able to do whatever a man can do without asking anybody about the implications. I want to earn a living. I want to take care of my mother and my younger ones. I want to live responsibly.

”Physically, I have the ability to do things I want as a man, except having sex with a woman for now but I don‘t think that is enough to be facing the problem I am going through. I am able.”

Correspondent spoke to a Professor of Sociology, Prof. Lai Olurode, on the predicament of Johnson. The former Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences in the University of Lagos said it was psychological.

He said, ”It is not easy for him psychologically to cope with the opposite sex where she was before as a female. The stigmatism is a societal thing but there is a need for him to be psychologically prepared for the battle he is facing now.

”I believe it was a mistake for him to have chosen to be a male. It would have been easier for him as a female. Life continues.

”I think the best thing for him is to travel out of the country and start another life where he is not known at all. Co-existing with people is a difficult thing for him and this is just natural.”

A psychologist, Prof. Hellen Osinowo, said Johnson‘s case was a big gender conflict because of the societal values. Osinowo is head of Department, Psychology, University of Ibadan.

She said, ”It is important to know whether the parents were aware of the ambiguity early enough. This guy grew up as a female and now had a sex change to be a male. His friend might be thinking he is not a complete man because he was not born a man.

”He should have been told about the effects before the sex change while there should have been pre-psychological and post-psychological training for him to be able to adapt and be ready for the challenges for the decision to be a male.

”There should be determination on his part to sort the problem. He should decide he has to move on no matter what anyone says and he should also be sure that he has completed the change process because that will give him confidence anywhere he finds himself.”

Johnson has decided to approach the Nigeria Football Federation and the National Sports Commission for assistance.

”I need to go for another surgery. I have wasted seven years of my life on this issue. My resolution for 2011 is to move on, anyhow. I love football but as it is, after my last surgery, the focus will be to get a job for survival and to live a normal life. It has been tough for me but I am looking at the New Year with hope,” Johnson added.

 

—————

Back


LV Insurance